Creative Writing Excerpt

A Story of Hope, A Story of Concern

C. Hunter (she/her)
2 min readApr 6, 2022
Image via Pexels

I couldn’t believe it. He just showed up at my door, out of nowhere, expecting for me to be surprised. I had never even had a conversation with this person, let alone extended an invitation to enter my home.

He assumed that from stories he’d heard from my youth that he’d take a shot at his luck and albeit, a bit bold and delusional, I couldn’t help but close the door. A rather peculiar fellow, whom I had never even engaged in a conversation on a level to the extreme of creating such a surprise.

Although, I know he may have meant nothing by it-it just wasn’t that bright of an idea. You see when you engage in stories of a persons past, about good deeds and opportunities afforded them, you also have to afford the listener with great context because what once were 10 years ago may never happen again.

I had the police on the line because this quite odd fellow, with whom I never extended an invitation or shared even the slightest intimate moment, just placed not only my life in harms way but his own. Black Lives Matter but in true context. You can’t just go throwing yourself on just anyone. You have to make sure that you’re well acquainted or you may find yourself knocking on the wrong door.

--

--

C. Hunter (she/her)

ARCHIVES | DISCLAIMER: Many of the random thoughts & ideas expressed do not reflect the writers education, religion, or employer(s). All rights reserved.